Generic Surgical Sciences Training Course February to May 2021

Course

CTEC has developed an extensive training program for junior doctors to support their study efforts as they prepare for the RACS Generic Surgical Sciences Exam (GSSE). CTEC's GSS Training Course aims to improve knowledge, understanding and application of anatomy, physiology and pathology as it pertains to surgical training. In 2021 CTEC's GSS Training Course is offered as 25 online tutorials over 13 weeks between February and May.

Suitable for: Junior Doctors - Interns, RMOs and Service Registrars - especially those aiming to sit the GSSE in June 2021.

Dates

No dates set

About

For the first time, CTEC's GSS Training Course will be offered Australia-wide via an online platform.  The online sessions will be offered live and expert presenters will encourage participation from the group. The sessions will be recorded so they are available for revision and to those who were unable to attend the live online session. Teaching faculty will be drawn from across Australia.

Online tutorial participants on CTEC's GSS Training Course will have access to a range of recommended learning materials, revision modules and formative assessments to assist with their study efforts.
 

2021 Online Course Structure 

Week 1:

Tuesday 9 February - HPB anatomy and physiology with Professor Jeff Hamdorf

Thursday 11 February -  Gastrointestinal physiology with Dr Rob White

 

Week 2:
Tuesday 16 February - Oesophagus, stomach and spleen anatomy with Professor Richard Naunton Morgan

Thursday 18 February - Small and large bowel - anatomy with Mr Rhys Filgate

 

Week 3:

Tuesday 23 February - Endocrine anatomy and physiology with Dr Alan Tien

Thursday 25 February - Abdominal wall and retroperitoneum anatomy with Professor Jeffrey Hamdorf

 

Week 4: 

Tuesday 2 March - Urological anatomy and pathology with Dr Robert Davies

Thursday 4 March - Renal physiology with Dr Aron Chakera

 

Week 5: Tuesday 9 & Thursday 11 March

Tuesday 9 March - Reproductive physiology and gynaecologic pathology with Dr Robyn Leake

Thursday 11 March - Rectum, pelvic floor and anus anatomy with Mr Rhys Filgate

 

Week 6: 

Tuesday 16 March - Blood physiology with Professor Catherine Cole

 

Week 7: 

Tuesday 23 March - Blood disorders with Professor Catherine Cole

Thursday 25 March - Upper limb orthopaedic anatomy with Dr Ian Timms

 

Week 8: 

Tuesday 30 March - Neuroanatomy with Dr Rosh Bak

 

Week 9: 

Wednesday 7 April - Tissue response to injury (pathology) with Dr Marcus Dabner

 

Week 10: 

Monday 12 April - ENT and maxillofacial anatomy with Dr Andrew Lindsay

Tuesday 13 April - Lower limb orthopaedic anatomy with Mr Nicholas Frost

Thursday 15 April - Cells, nerves and muscles physiology with Dr Dieter Weber
 

Week 11: 

Tuesday 20 April - Cardiovascular Physiology with Dr Rob White

Thursday 22 April - Cardiothoracic anatomy with Dr Charles Jenkinson
 

Week 12: 

Tuesday 27 April - Metabolism and nutrition (physiology) with Professor Elizabeth Quail and Ms Amber Boyatzis

Wednesday 28 April 6.30 to 7.30pm only - ENT Part 2 - Neck MCQs with Mr Andrew Lindsay

 

Week 13: 

Tuesday 4 May - Medical statistics with Dr Kevin Murray

Wednesday 5 May - Cells, nerves and muscles physiology with Dr Dieter Weber

Thursday 6 May - Vascular anatomy with Dr Nishath Altaf
 

Week 14:

Monday 10 May - General pathology phenomena (pathology) with Dr Marcus Dabner

Tuesday 11 May - Genetics with Dr Mark Cruickshank 
 

Junior Doctors based in Western Australia are encouraged to register for CTEC's May-June 2021 face to face JDocs: Anatomy Course to consolidate clinically relevant anatomy knowledge.  This series of workshop sessions is convened over six Saturdays in May and June 2021.

 

Online Course Inclusions

  • Recommended learning materials
  • Revision modules
  • Formative assessments
  • Limited course numbers 

 

Faculty

Mr Nishath Altaf
Dr Rosh Bak
Dr Ruth Blackham
Ms Amber Boyatzis
Dr Aron Chakera
Professor Catherine Cole
Dr Mark Cruickshank
Dr Marcus Dabner
Dr Robert Davies
Mr Rhys Filgate
Mr Nicholas Frost
Dr Charles Jenkinson
Dr Robyn Leake
Dr Andrew Lindsay
Dr Kevin Murray
Professor Richard Naunton Morgan
Professor Elizabeth Quail
Dr Alan Tien
Dr Ian Timms
Clinical Associate Professor Dieter Weber
Dr Rob White

 

Fee (24 Online Tutorials)

Junior Doctors: $1200

 

 

COVID-19 Information for Workshop Participants

CTEC Terms and Conditions

 

Course content, date and convenors may be subject to change or cancellation due to unforeseen circumstances. 

Testimonials

"I've found it very helpful in providing a scaffold to build upon for learning. Has also been a good motivator to get me to study."
"The excellent tutors were very helpful and approachable"
- Past participants

Venue

CTEC
The University of Western Australia
Entrance No. 2. Hackett Drive, Crawley
Perth, Western Australia

For more information contact

Samantha Thompson
CTEC Course Coordinator / Academic Services Assistant
T +61 8 6488 8044
E samantha.thompson@uwa.edu.au

CTEC acknowledges the support of the following:

Stay informed of our activities